Where to Start?

1 Comment

I’ve never written a blog before, I haven’t even kept a proper diary. I’m much too lazy to commit to any daily task apart from brushing my teeth! I also find most blogs a bit self-indulgent, but I guess they are by their very nature? I dunno, perhaps I am over thinking! So why am I writing a blog? Well, because I have been on a journey. Yes, a journey. A physical and emotional roller coaster lasting 29 years, with the last three years being the most journeyrific.

Jesus. Even when I’m taking the piss I find it cringeworthy. Perhaps a more McCooey-like direct approach would be better.

I used to be really fat and then I lost a load of weight, now I’m doing the New York Marathon just to be able to say I did it.

That’s pretty much the nutshell version! It really is as simple as that, and it doesn’t really require much more analysis. Anyone who knows me will already know this is the story, but it has struck me since losing weight that there are literally hundreds of people on a local level who need to do the same. Don’t get me wrong, I in no way feel entitled to lecture people on being overweight. It would be hypocritical in the extreme to promote myself as some guru of dieting, a bit like a reformed smoker or ex-alcoholic. But it’s true. There is an obesity epidemic exploding its way across the UK and Ireland. Maybe it’s because I’m not the fattest person in the room/bar/street anymore, so I can see it around me. I used to delight in meeting people bigger than me when I was at my biggest – it made me feel sexy and svelte! It didn’t happen that often, but I lapped it up when it did. Anyway, my point is, being fat is not good. It’s fun, but it’s not good. And I defy any fat person to tell me that they are truly happy and content with EVERY aspect of their lives and of their self.

So, for those people who spend their time avoiding mirrors, avoiding high street shopping, clutching at straws trying to find a sure fire way to lose weight – let this blog serve as proof: You can lose weight. You can lose large amounts of weight, easily, comfortably, and actually quite enjoyably. You do not have to contemplate surgery. You can do it all by yourself. I’m going to tell you what I did to get where I am today (which is still far from perfect), and if it inspires you to do the same – that’s all I want. It was seeing a friend of mine lose weight that inspired me to give it a go (again), and it just worked this time. I don’t know why, it wasn’t as if I hadn’t tried before, something just clicked. So if this makes something ‘click’ for you – happy days.

P.S. I don’t like using the words ‘inspirational’ or ‘inspire’ or ‘dream’, cos they’re gay. I can say that, cos I’m gay too. HA! You can’t get outraged!

One thought on “Where to Start?

Leave a Reply

