Today Is The Day…

Leave a comment

After all my many weeks and months of talking the marathon talk, it is time to walk the walk. Or run the walk, if you will. Today sees the beginning of the sixteen week training programme, culminating in race day on Sunday 4th November. It’s starting to feel more real now, and I’m getting nervous! Hopefully nervous energy is good, and I can funnel some of it into my fundraising effort.

As I’ve said before, I’m running this marathon for me; so I’ve paid for the trip and the race entry myself. Given I only intend to do this marathon once, it makes sense to try and raise some money for charity – so at least when I’m vomiting in Central Park and hating everything to do with marathons, I’ll know that some good has come from my sweaty endeavours!

In order to spread the love, I’ve decided to raise money for two charities, one local and one national. The local one, as most of you know, is Southern Area Hospice Services. This hospice provides exceptional care to terminally ill patients and relies on donations to keep going. My grandmother, who had cancer, was nursed here so the Hospice has always been a charity very close to our family and it was a natural choice. The national charity is the Alzheimer’s Society, the leading UK care and research charity for people with Alzheimer’s and other dementias. My grandfather suffered from Alzheimer’s and though his symptoms were relatively mild, it did put strain on the family, and caused him a great deal of unhappiness. There are hundreds of equally deserving charities that can be, and should be, supported; but these two made the cut because of the personal experience and due to the fact that I’ll most likely inherit one or both of these conditions!

I’d love to get a good total raised, so I’m asking politely for your help. I have no intention of badgering anyone, so this will be my first and last post about this on here. If you’d like to donate, you can hop on over to www.justgiving.com/teams/bigfatmarathon
As you can see, the BigFatMarathon team consists of me and Grainne Moody, hence the two pages – one for the Hospice and one for Alzheimer’s, so you can pick and choose your charity. Similarly, you can donate via text and choose your charity that way too!

To donate to Southern Area Hospice Services, text BFMA99 to 70070 followed by the amount you wish to donate

To donate to the Alzheimer’s Society, text BFMA88 to 70070 followed by the amount you wish to donate

Simple! Well, it could be simpler, but JustGiving decided to complicate things a bit. Anyway….. For those of you who like to keep it old school, there will be some sponsor cards floating about too! All cash donations will be split evenly between the two charities.

I think that’s about it! I hope I haven’t bored you with this one, but I thought I better get it out of the way. Speaking of which, I need to get my first days training out of the way too as I have an evening of creating sponsor cards ahead of me!

Toodles for now,
McCooey

Leave a Reply

