Nothing to Say

2 Comments

Almost a fortnight on after the event (I can’t bring myself to say the m-word), and I find myself at a bit of a loss. The sudden freeing of time and brain space has been disconcerting, and I’m not sure I’m enjoying it. A post training fog has descended. I can’t help but think “What was the point”?

Any runners experienced anything similar?

In weight news, I am an unhappy 12 stone 9; though this translates as only 3 pounds up from before New York. Given I have only stopped rattling from the sheer volume of M and Ms consumed over there, it probably isn’t too bad. Yet again, I find myself in pursuit of the 12 stone mark, bollocks anyway. If I’m 12 stone 6 by Wednesday I’ll be happy enough. I have a meeting with a man that day you see….. But that’s a whole other story.

Ciao for now,

McCooey

20121117-143957.jpg
That’s me. Afraid of exercise.

2 thoughts on “Nothing to Say

  1. This anti-climactic feeling is well documented, particularly for those who have been training for endurance events. Lots of people report getting the ‘post race blues’. You’ve worked hard for something, then when you achieve it, you feel ‘is that it?’. It’s just the result of being so structured and goal focused for so long. Once the event is done, and you are freed of your strict routines, you can find it pretty hard to readjust!

    Remember what you have accomplished from the beginning of your training schedule. These post race blues serve as a reminder that it’s not all about what you achieved on the day of the race, but what you accomplished every single day on the road to the event.

  2. I’m not surprised that you’re having an odd time after your marathon. I think that it would be odd anyway but because NY was just massively freaky this year I imagine that it’s magnified a hundred times.

    “What’s the point?” is a terrifying question. I’ve found it coming and going over the years but I’ve come to no good answer. But in your case there are some pretty good answers.

    You have the physical and mental ability to run a marathon.

    You discovered that you could plan for, train for and then do something ridiculously hard. The knowledge that you have done something that taxing, that took a lot of work over a long time, will be with you the next time you have something challenging to do.

    You raised thousands of pounds for a very good cause. You have effected a change for the good in the lives of other people. It’s not often we can say that.

    You did it yourself. Other people may have helped. You might feel that you couldn’t have done it without them. But at the end of the day, you did it yourself.

    Point? Pointless? No idea. What else would you have done with the time? There was a damn sight more point to it than sitting on the couch for the year (I am, obviously, describing what I do!).

    Perhaps it’s a good time to deliberately take a break. To tell yourself that you are going to take a week, or two, or a month or whatever and just not worry about it. And then, perhaps, think about what else you can do with all the free time.

    God, I love pontificating from the lazy comfort of my couch.

Leave a Reply

